Wednesday 1 December 2010


Leon McCawley, piano

Leoš Janáček: In the Mists (V mlhách)
Johannes Brahms:
25 Variations and fugue on a theme by Handel for piano, Op.24
Fryderyk Chopin: Impromptu in A flat, Op.29
Fryderyk Chopin: Impromptu in F sharp, Op.36
Fryderyk Chopin: Impromptu in G flat, Op.51
Fryderyk Chopin: Fantaisie-impromptu in C sharp minor, Op.66
Samuel Barber: Nocturne (Homage to John Field), Op.33
Samuel Barber: Piano Sonata in E flat minor, Op.26

British pianist Leon McCawley is known for the clarity and beauty of his playing. His programme is an intriguing juxtaposition that culminates in two pieces by the American composer Samuel Barber, whose centenary falls in 2010 and whose Sonata for Piano is a triumph of imagination, bursting with excitement and no-holds-barred virtuosity. Contrasting with this McCawley opens with Janáček's heart-rending In the Mists, the simple beauty of which masks profound mysteries and sorrows, and before Chopin's glittering Impromptus, he performs a masterpiece by Brahms - the Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Handel, one of the composer's most demanding and extrovert works for solo piano.

'Full of life and drama.' (International Piano Magazine on Leon McCawley)

Watch & Listen