Wednesday 13 October 2010


London Philharmonic Orchestra

Resident at Southbank Centre

Magnus Lindberg: Al largo (UK premiere)
Felix Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto
William Walton: Symphony No.1 in B flat minor

The London Philharmonic Orchestra performs a contrasting programme of works by Walton, Mendelssohn and a UK premiere by Magnus Lindberg.

Walton's First Symphony is a massively structured epic - a work of broad Romantic sweep and struggle, a canvas that places Sibelius-like grandeur and high-voltage electricity alongside the infectious syncopations of jazz. If Mendelssohn's perfected and instantly heart-string-tugging Violin Concerto felt like God's gift to violinists, Walton's Symphony appeared the same to English symphony orchestras, hungry for a successor to Elgar's masterpieces that would at last wrestle the symphonic crown from the European mainland.

Opening tonight's programme is a new work by contemporary composer Magnus Lindberg commissioned by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra (Alan Gilbert, Music Director), London Philharmonic Orchestra and Casa da Música, Porto. To conduct, a conductor who routinely coaxes musicians into performing better than they ever thought they could, Osmo Vänskä.


Osmo Vänskä conductor
Agata Szymczewska violin

Watch & Listen