Wednesday 18 April 2012


London Philharmonic Orchestra

World Premiere with Colin Currie

Robert Schumann: Overture, Genoveva
Kalevi Aho: Sieidi - Concerto for solo percussion & orchestra (World premiere)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.1

Colin Currie premieres the new Percussion Concerto composed for him by Kalevi Aho.

Radiant joy and intense poetry characterise recent works from the pen of Finnish composer Kalevi Aho. His style might continue to adapt and evolve, but he never ceases to arouse listeners and make them aware of the world in alluring and enlightening ways. Here percussionist Colin Currie unveils the new concerto written for him by Aho in what is one of the most eagerly-anticipated premieres of the season.

It is followed by the symphony Brahms thought he could never write - his post-Beethoven First. Its opening passages famously launching like an arrow shot in slow-motion, steamrolling towards an angelic Andante and a cheering, striding finale.

Kalevi Aho's Sieidi - Concerto for solo percussion & orchestra is commissioned by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Luosto Classic Festival.

Royal Festival Hall at 6.15pm - Colin Currie explores Kalevi Aho's Sieidi - Concerto for solo percussion & orchestra. Free


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Osmo Vänskä conductor
Colin Currie percussion

Watch & Listen