Sergey Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.3
Sergey Rachmaninov: Symphony No.2

An evening where Rachmaninov's finest piano concerto meets his most enduringly popular symphony.

The undulating melody of the Third Piano Concerto weaves its way into one of the most heart-stopping musical narratives of the 20th century - a lone virtuoso thundering and eulogising against a surging, soaring orchestra.

The Second Symphony contains the very best of Rachmaninov. Powered by melody, richly orchestrated, moving from momentary infernal whirlwinds to passionate declarations of love and still reflections of peace and tranquility, it was the piece that gave its composer his symphonic credentials.

Please note change of artist:
The London Philharmonic Orchestra regret that Yannick Nézet-Séguin has withdrawn from this concert due to illness and are grateful to the prize-winning Russian-born American conductor Mikhail Agrest for stepping in at very short notice. The concert programme remains unchanged.

'... beguiling orchestral playing, conducted by Mikhail Agrest in his house debut. He handled all the pulsating accompaniments and melodic inventions with enormous clarity, pacing everything carefully to the work's radiant end.' (The Evening Standard on Agrest conducting 'Jenufa' at ENO)

In co-operation with the Sergei Rachmaninoff Foundation.

Free pre-concert event, 6pm until 6.45pm, Royal Festival Hall
Pianist Dimitri Mayboroda performs Rachmaninov's Piano Sonata No.1.


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Mikhail Agrest conductor
Simon Trpceski piano

Watch & Listen