Friday 18 February 2011


London Sinfonietta

Resident at Southbank Centre

Steve Reich: Tehillim
Thomas Adès: In Seven Days - Piano Concerto with Moving Image

Composer-conductor-pianist Thomas Adès, hailed as one of the world's leading voices in modern composition, joins the London Sinfonietta for an evening of hypnotic and intricate music from master minimalist Steve Reich and a major work from Adès himself.

Adès's video-ballet, In Seven Days - Concerto for Piano with Moving Image, is a collaboration with artist and filmmaker Tal Rosner, and follows the story of creation. It combines sound and video to create an experience that evokes stasis and hyperactivity, awe and wonder, the abstract and the definite.

In an interview about the piece, Adès says: 'So much of contemporary art is ironic and I don't think that's enough any more. Why would anyone be ashamed of beauty? It's a very 20th-century idea that you might be. Thankfully that's gone.'

Expect music that is bold but full of delicate and intricate harmonies and textures.
The concert is opened by Steve Reich's Tehillim, a joyful, rhythmic and pulsating setting of four psalms for female singers and ensemble.

Extending his trademark minimalist techniques for this half-hour, text-based piece, Reich creates a soundworld that mixes hypnotic rhythms, glowing harmonies and African-inspired percussion, building to an ecstatic climax. This is music to move you physically as well as emotionally!

Produced by the London Sinfonietta in collaboration with Sound and Music and the Southbank Centre


London Sinfonietta
Thomas Adès conductor
Nicolas Hodges piano
Synergy Vocals chorus
Tal Rosner visuals

Watch & Listen