Tuesday 8 June 2010


Paul Lewis, piano

International Piano Series 2009/10 / Schumann birthday concert

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Adagio in B minor for solo piano, K.540
Robert Schumann: Fantasie in C, Op.17
Franz Liszt: Annees de pelerinage - Vallee d'Obermann
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Sonata in C, Op.53 (Waldstein)

British pianist Paul Lewis is hugely celebrated for his considered and profound interpretations of the Viennese classics as testified by his award-winning Schubert Sonata series and his Beethoven Sonata cycle. In this, his Royal Festival Hall recital debut, which takes place on the 200th anniversary of Schumann's birth, he performs the epic Fantasie in C alongside Liszt's headily Byronic Vallee d'Obermann - two examples of overwhelming romanticism. Lewis displays his outstanding musical versatility by opening the recital with Mozart and closing it with one of Beethoven's best-loved sonatas, the Waldstein.

'Lewis's sense of structure and constant awareness of what the harmonic rhythm is doing allows him to generate tension in the most subtle ways' (The Guardian).

Young Persons' Platform tickets for just £7 are available for those aged between 15 and 25. Please note, these are only available by phoning the Ticket Office on 0844 875 0073.

Related Links
For recordings by this artist visit mdc music and movies

Watch & Listen