Witold Lutoslawski: Musique funèbre
Witold Lutoslawski: Piano Concerto
Maurice Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé (complete)

Salonen conducts this special Lutoslawski anniversary concert which includes Musique funèbre, the Piano Concerto with soloist Krystian Zimerman and culminating in Ravel's stirring Daphnis and Chloé.

Tonight's concert opens the celebrations for the exact centenary of Lutoslawski's birth tomorrow. What better, therefore, than to open proceedings with his Musique funèbre, which the composer himself described as 'my first word in a new language.'
The Piano Concerto is, by comparison, one of Lutoslawski's last completed works, a glorious summation of his creative achievement that belongs in the great tradition of Romantic piano concertos stretching all the way back to Chopin and Liszt.

There is also a rare opportunity to hear Ravel's complete ballet score Daphnis et Chloé, which shares with Lutoslawski's distinctive soundworlds a meticulous attention to detail that is ravishing and utterly magical.

Royal Festival Hall at 6pm - An introduction to the evening's programme by Steven Stucky in conversation with Esa-Pekka Salonen. Free.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano
Philharmonia Voices