Dmitry Shostakovich: Piano Trio No.2 in E minor, Op.67
Olivier Messiaen: Quatuor pour la fin du temps

Messiaen's Quartet for the End of Time has possibly the most intriguing story behind it of any piece composed in the 20th century. Taken to Germany as a prisoner of war in 1940, hunger and intense cold gave the French composer vivid dreams that evoked the Apocalypse.

The experience inspired Messiaen to write the transcendent eight-movement work, which received its premiere in front of fellow prisoners and guards. 'Never before have I been listened to with such attention and understanding,' Messiaen wrote of the performance.

Shostakovich's Second Piano Trio, composed and premiered in 1944, is a haunting lament for the tragic victims of World War II, and the horror of war in general.

Four renowned chamber musicians known for the full-blooded virtuosity of their performances - brothers Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, competition-winning pianist Denis Kozhukhin and clarinettist-composer Jörg Widmann - combine for this concert.


Renaud Capuçon violin
Gautier Capuçon cello
Denis Kozhukhin piano
Jörg Widmann clarinet

Watch & Listen