Witold Lutoslawski: Jeux Vénetiens (Venetian Games) for chamber orchestra
Claude Debussy: 3 Nocturnes for orchestra
Witold Lutoslawski: Symphony No.3
Albert Roussel: Bacchus and Ariane, Suite No.2

Tonight's concert features Lutoslawski's Symphony No. 3, commissioned by Georg Solti and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 1972 and premiered by them in 1983.

It was described by its first reviewer as 'so dazzling in its originality, so powerful in its use of the orchestra's resources and so remarkable in its ability to communicate that a person had to think of it immediately as a 20th-century masterwork ... a landmark to stand beside masterpieces by Bartók, Prokofiev and Shostakovich.'

This programme from one of the world's great youth orchestras, as part of the Philharmonia Orchestra's Woven Words series celebrating the centenary of Lutoslawski's birth, places this modern masterpiece alongside attractive French vignettes by two of Lutoslawski's favourite composers - Claude Debussy and Albert Roussel.


Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra
Franck Ollu conductor