Wednesday 27 January 2010


Takacs Quartet

Associate Artists at Southbank Centre / Beethoven Cycle (4/6)

Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in D, Op.18 No.3
Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in E minor, Op.59 No.2 (Razumovsky)
Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet in E flat, Op.127

At the heart of the second in this pair of Takács programmes is the Razumovsky Quartet No.2. Named after the Russian Count who commissioned them, the Razumovsky Quartets include a recurring Russian theme in his honour; with these works, Beethoven took the quartet into deeper, more emotionally sensitive territory. The first of Beethoven's fascinating 'late' quartets, Op.127, features a vast set of variations, using a tonal progression based on the finale of his Ninth Symphony.

Queen Elizabeth Hall at 6.15pm - Pre-concert talk. Beethoven Quartets from inside and outside with Roderick Swanston. Admission free.

Watch & Listen