In January 2011, Orkney islands-based singer-songwriter Erland Cooper grouped together his Erland & The Carnival band mate Simon Tong and singer/orchestral arranger Hannah Peel (of last year's solo 'The Broken Wave' album) to form a new group, The Magnetic North.

This show supports the release of their new album 'Orkney - Symphony Of The Magnetic North'.

Immersing themselves in Orcadian folklore, poetry and geography, the trio were guided by a 1930s book titled 'Orkney - The Magnetic North', which seemed to lend itself perfectly to the album's title.

'Elegiac melodies that drift like the winds buffeting the islands' **** (Mojo)

'remarkable... songs as gloriously haunted as the land that spawned them' **** (Q)

'Unobtrusively lovely melodies' **** (The Times)

'something incredibly precious' 8/10 (Clash)

'Like a folk score to a forgotten Hitchcock film...quite brilliant' 8/10 (Loud and Quiet)

'..the magic and mysteries of one of Britain's northernmost points' 8/10 (Drowned In Sound)

'These are timeless songs... a treasure map to the Orkney Islands' (The Quietus)

Related Links