Classical music
Contemporary Classical

New Music for Leo Hepner

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

Hear world premieres of new works commissioned in tribute to one of contemporary music’s most important supporters, Leo Hepner.

This concert features new music by Charlotte Bray, Milica Djordjevic and Tom Coult.


Arditti String Quartet
Paul Beckett viola
Timothy Ridout viola
Ralf Ehlers viola
Gary Hoffman cello
Lucas Fels cello


JS Bach: Prelude; Sarabande; Gigue from Suite No.3 in C for solo cello, BWV.1009
George Benjamin: Viola, Viola
Milica Djordjevic: Pomen II for viola (World premiere)
Wolfgang Rihm: Fetzen; Fetzen II for string quartet
Webern: 5 Movements for string quartet, Op.5
Tom Coult: String Quartet No.1 (World premiere)
Charlotte Bray: Mid-Oceaned for viola & cello (World premiere)
Brian Ferneyhough: Dum Transisset I - IV

Dates & times

29 May 2018
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Purcell Room


£12 - £25
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£12, £18, £25


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy