Art
Exhibition

A Child's Guide to Brutalism

Explore this new display on brutalist architecture, for both children and adults.

Queen Elizabeth Hall and Hayward Gallery are both notable examples of brutalist buildings, a type of architecture popular in the 1960s, when the buildings were built.

50 years on, this style of architecture continues to excite and divide the public. Working with a group of school children from Ashmore Primary School in Lambeth (which was also built in 1968), we explored this distinctive style of architecture through the eyes of children.

This new display offers an insight into the history of brutalism and how our 1960s buildings came to be. It also showcases the creative responses made by the children involved in the project.

Dates & times

21 Apr 2018 - 1 Jul 2018
><
  • April 2018

    • Sat 21 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 22 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 23 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 24 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 25 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 26 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 27 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 28 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 29 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 30 April 2018
      • 10:00 am
  • May 2018

    • Tue 1 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 2 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 3 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 4 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 5 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 6 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 7 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 8 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 9 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 10 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 11 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 12 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 13 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 14 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 15 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 16 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 17 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 18 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 19 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 20 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 21 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 22 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 23 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 24 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 25 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 26 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 27 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 28 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 29 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 30 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 31 May 2018
      • 10:00 am
  • June 2018

    • Fri 1 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 2 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 3 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 4 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 5 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 6 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 7 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 8 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 9 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 10 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 11 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 12 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 13 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 14 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 15 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 16 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 17 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 18 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 19 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 20 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 21 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 22 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 23 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 24 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 25 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 26 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 27 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 28 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 29 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 30 June 2018
      • 10:00 am
  • July 2018

    • Sun 1 July 2018
      • 10:00 am

where

Royal Festival Hall
Archive Studio, Level 2, Blue side, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free

shop hayward

Andreas Gursky Exhibition Catalogue Munich

White Leica Sofort Camera

Andreas Gursky DVD

Gursky Exhibition Tote Bag