Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No.82 `Ich habe genug'
Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No.152 `Tritt auf die Glaubensbahn'
Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No.54 `Widerstehe doch der Sunde'
Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata No.182 `Himmelskönig, sei willkommen'

It is impossible to overstate the importance of Bach's 200 cantatas, described by Stravinsky as 'the centre of our European repertoire'.

Amazingly, most of these masterpieces were performed only once. Some, however, were given several outings by Bach, including the famous death cantata 'Ich habe genug' with its sublime oboe obligato, and the brilliantly ebullient Easter cantata 'Himmelskönig, sei willkommen' featuring virtuoso violin and recorder parts.


London Bach Singers
Faye Newton soprano
Clare Wilkinson mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Hurndall Smith tenor
Ben Davies bass
Feinstein Ensemble
Martin Feinstein director