Monday 31 March 2014


BBC Concert Orchestra

World Once Known

Maurice Ravel: Le tombeau de Couperin
Claude Debussy: Berceuse héroïque
Samuel Barber: Knoxville: Summer of 1915, Op.24
Leos Janácek: The Fiddler's Child
George Butterworth: A Shropshire Lad
Béla Bartók: Dance Suite

A world of nostalgia and reflection on mortality is encapsulated in the music of George Butterworth, who died in action in 1916.

His orchestral rhapsody A Shropshire Lad invites us to embrace life in its inevitable brevity.

Music by Debussy and Ravel pays homage to those who died in the Great War, and American soprano Nicole Cabell joins the orchestra for Barber's wistful depiction of Tennessee summers gone by.

This concert is broadcast live on BBC Radio 3 as part of BBC Radio 3 Live at Southbank Centre.


BBC Concert Orchestra
Keith Lockhart conductor
Nicole Cabell soprano