Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Sonata in E, Op.109
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Sonata in A flat, Op.110
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Sonata in C minor, Op.111

Opening this season's International Piano Series, Igor Levit performs Beethoven's last three piano sonatas. A legendary trilogy exploring mystical atmospheres and transcendental musical extremes, these sonatas are among the composer's greatest achievements and represent a tremendous challenge for any performer.

From the tender three-part Op.109 through the expressive arias and striving fugues of Op.110 to the violent contrasts and celestial variations of Op.111, these works hold a unique place in the literature of the piano. This is a rare chance this year to hear all of them together.

Igor Levit, born in Russia and educated in Germany, is a member of the BBC New Generations Scheme and tonight makes his Southbank Centre recital debut. '...a great, enthralling evening without weakness in a monstrously difficult programme… [Levit] is right at the top of the list of the up and coming piano stars, and rightly so.' (Rheinische Post, November 2010)


Igor Levit, piano

Watch & Listen