Johannes Brahms: Tragic Overture
Sergey Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.3
Antonin Dvorák: Symphony No.8

Join us for the 70th Birthday Celebration of acclaimed British pianist John Lill, performing Rachmaninov's passionate Piano Concerto No.3.

Writing about one of Lill's performances with the RPO, The Independent declared that the pianist is 'still a majestic presence... one was immediately drawn in by the unforced, unselfconscious beauty of the sound'.

The Tragic Overture by Brahms was written when the composer was on holiday, expressing what he described as his 'melancholy nature'. The result is a work full of tempestuous drama and wistful lyricism.

Dvorák's Eighth Symphony is one of his most exuberant works, drawing on Bohemian folk music for inspiration.

This concert is broadcast live on BBC Radio 3 as part of BBC Radio 3 Live at Southbank Centre.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard conductor
John Lill piano

Watch & Listen