Benjamin Britten: The Prince of the Pagodas Suite (Prelude & dances)
Benjamin Britten: Suite on English Folk Tunes (A Time There Was ...), Op.90
Benjamin Britten: Nocturne, Op.60
Benjamin Britten: Cello Symphony

Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Vladimir Jurowski conducts orchestral gems by Benjamin Britten in his centenary year.

‘Write for the cello everything that your heart tells you,’ said the great Mstislav Rostropovich when asking Britten for a new work for his instrument. Britten responded with music of fraught intensity but also of optimism - his only piece of ‘absolute’ symphonic music, and an inspiring journey from darkness to light.

At the end of his career Britten turned once more to an enduring theme: the corruption of innocence and the recollection of times lost. His 'Suite on English Folk Tunes' is a gentle but touching act of homage to both the country in which he felt so rooted and the tradition of folksong to which he owed so much.


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Mark Padmore tenor
Truls Mørk cello

Watch & Listen