Felix Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No.3 (vers. 1888-9, ed. Novak)

When his musical guiding light Richard Wagner died, Anton Bruckner set about creating a symphonic memorial to the composer who had inspired him more than any other.

The first version appeared in 1873, but it took 16 years of fine-tuning before Bruckner's Third Symphony was just how its composer wanted it - a monolithic memorial that feels intimate and deeply personal, too.

Mendelssohn didn't rush the creation of his Violin Concerto, either. Seven years in the making, Mendelssohn's exquisite journey through passion, agitation and celebration must have seemed, to its dedicatee the violinist Ferdinand David, like the perfect gift.

Free pre-concert event
Royal Festival Hall, 6pm - 6.45pm

Musicians from the LPO join students from London Music Masters' innovative music education programme, the Bridge Project, for a musical celebration.
Tonight's soloist, violinist Benjamin Beilman, works regularly with the children as an Award Holder with LMM, acting as an inspirational role model. See londonmusicmasters.org for more details.


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Stanislaw Skrowaczewski conductor
Benjamin Beilman violin

Watch & Listen