Alexandre Tansman: Stèle in memoriam Igor Stravinsky
Igor Stravinsky: Violin Concerto in D
Henryk Górecki: Symphony No.4 (World premiere)

In 1940s Hollywood, the Polish composer Alexandre Tansman met and befriended Igor Stravinsky. It was a close, respectful relationship that Tansman captured in his musical memorial on Stravinsky’s death three decades later -- a touching elegy containing a rhythmic tour-de-force that would surely have made the Russian smile. Stravinsky paid homage to his own musical mentors Bach and Mozart in the poignant games and conflicts of his acrobatic Violin Concerto. The world premiere of Górecki's Symphony No. 4 is a major event that the musical world has been anticipating for 40 years.

Górecki's Symphony No. 4 is commissioned by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Southbank Centre London, with generous support from the Adam Mickiewicz Institute, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association and Zaterdag Matinee Amsterdam.

Free pre-concert event
Royal Festival Hall, 5pm - 5.30pm
The London Philharmonic Orchestra's creative ensemble for 15-19 year-olds, The Band, premieres new music written by the group and dedicated to the memory of Górecki.

Free pre-concert talk
Royal Festival Hall, 6.15pm-6.45pm
Renowned Górecki expert, Professor Adrian Thomas, discusses the world premiere of Symphony No. 4.


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Andrey Boreyko conductor
Julian Rachlin violin

Watch & Listen