Johann Sebastian Bach: Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV.1041
Karl Amadeus Hartmann: Concerto funebre
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Symphony No.3 (Eroica)

Two hundred years ago Ludwig van Beethoven organised a concert that he hoped would help lift the burden of the oppressed. For this pivotal occasion, he wrote a symphony that would encapsulate ideals of liberty in music of intense endurance and fortitude.

In its volume, length and emotional power, Beethoven’s 'Eroica' left critics and audiences dumbfounded. You can still hear why -- as could Karl Amadeus Hartmann in 1939, when he wrote his musical protest against the Nazi occupation of Poland, 'Concerto funebre'. Hartmann chose to stay in Germany and resist fascism through his art; the results are defiant, deeply moving and musically outstanding.


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin

Watch & Listen