Johannes Brahms: Variations on a theme by Haydn (St. Anthony)
Robert Schumann: Violin Concerto in D minor
Robert Schumann: Symphony No.3 in E flat (Rhenish), Op.97

As part of Changing Minds 2016, Marin Alsop leads a concert focusing on the music of Schumann.

Genius and bipolarity are often common bedfellows and this concert explores the music of Robert Schumann, a composer who ended his days in an asylum.

The violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja joins the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment to perform Schumann's Violin Concerto, with its moving, intense and lyrical middle movement. The concert is crowned by his joyous Rhenish Symphony.

Changing Minds 2016 is Southbank Centre's weekend festival about mental health with performances, talks and music.

Pre-concert talk at 5.45pm


Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Marin Alsop conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin