Arcangelo Corelli: Concerto grosso in D, Op.6 No.1
Antonio Vivaldi: Sinfonia in B minor, RV.169 (al Santo Sepolcro)
Sally Beamish: Spinal Chords
Johann Sebastian Bach: Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV.1041
George Frideric Handel: Concerto grosso in A, Op.6 No.11

Some of the most famous music from the Baroque era rubs shoulders in this concert with a very modern classic, with the return of Sally Beamish's 'Spinal Chords'.

Premiered in 2012 as part of the London 2012 celebrations, 'Spinal Chords' proved to be an instant success with audiences and critics alike. Set to a text by columnist Melanie Reid, it tells the story of her struggle to overcome disability. The powerful text is underpinned by Sally Beamish's slowly shifting, constantly evolving soundworld.

Here it sits alongside music of an earlier era, including Bach's bright and fresh Violin Concerto, with Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment leader Matthew Truscott as soloist.

Free pre-concert event
Queen Elizabeth Hall, 5.45pm
OAE Extras. Two years on from its premiere, Sally Beamish reflects on Spinal Chords and its legacy.


Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Matthew Truscott director, violin
Juliet Stevenson narrator