Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No.1
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No.1

The opening concert in Andris Nelsons' Brahms series features two masterworks of blazing intensity.

Brahms' First Piano Concerto is an astonishing achievement for a 25-year-old, yet he felt so intimidated by Schumann's prediction that he was the man destined to 'take over the mantle of Beethoven' that he was 43 before going public with his all-encompassing First Symphony.

Andris Nelsons has sadly had to withdraw from this concert due to a viral flu infection. The Philharmonia Orchestra is most grateful to Hannu Lintu who is taking his place.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Hannu Lintu conductor
Hélène Grimaud piano