Luigi Cherubini: Overture, Médée
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.4
Ludwig Van Beethoven: Symphony No.7

Wagner referred to Beethoven's Seventh as the 'apotheosis of the dance', noting that rhythm is the music's prime motivating force.

Time and time again throughout the symphony, Beethoven takes a small rhythmic idea and runs with it over and over as if mesmerised by the intoxicating power of its repetition, climaxing in a final coda of overwhelming joy and excitement.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Juraj Valcuha conductor
Sunwook Kim piano

Watch & Listen