Josef Suk: Fantastic Scherzo, Op.25
Antonin Dvorák: Piano Concerto in G minor
Leos Janácek: Glagolitic Mass

Janácek's Glagolitic Mass is an exultant affirmation of the power of love and friendship. 'In the tenor solo I hear a high priest,' Janácek explained, 'in the soprano solo a girlish angel, and in the chorus our people.'

Each of the five main choral sections is preceded by a thrilling instrumental fanfare, culminating in a lustrous solo organ fantasia before the work's uplifting final section.

Royal Festival Hall at 6pm - Explore. An introduction to Janacék's Glagolitic Mass with Jakub Hrusa and Nigel Simeone. Free.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Jakub Hrusa conductor
Lukás Vondrácek piano
Gun-Brit Barkmin soprano
Monica Groop mezzo-soprano
Peter Berger tenor
Mischa Schelomianski bass
Thomas Trotter organ
Bristol Choral Society