Antonin Dvorák: Cello Concerto
Josef Suk: Symphony No.2 (Asrael)

The final Czech concert conducted by Jakub Hrusa pairs Dvorák's eloquent Cello Concerto with his son-in-law Josef Suk's heartfelt Asrael Symphony.

Composed in memory of Dvorák and his own wife (Dvorák's daughter), the symphony is named after the angel of death, who protects the deceased during their journey in the afterlife to the land of eternal blissfulness.

Royal Festival Hall at 6pm. Nicholas Mulroy, John Reid and students from the Royal College of Music students perform Janácek's Diary of One Who Disappeared, introduced by Jakub Hrusa. Free.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Jakub Hrusa conductor
Truls Mørk cello