Sergey Prokofiev: Symphony No.1 in D (Classical)
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto
Nicolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov: Sheherazade

The great cellist Steven Isserlis performs Elgar's Cello Concerto, with Kirill Karabits at the helm.

Elgar wrote his Cello Concerto - his last major work - in the wake of the First World War. The Concerto is suffused with desolate beauty, and the human quality of the cello makes it the perfect mouthpiece for such profoundly moving music.

Framing the Concerto are works by Prokofiev and Rimsky Korsakov. Prokofiev's Classical Symphony is a witty tribute to the music of Haydn and his contemporaries, while Rimsky Korsakov's Scheherazade is an irresistible score, glittering and sumptuous.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Kirill Karabits conductor
Steven Isserlis cello
Clio Gould violin