Did you know that Roald Dahl used to be a spy? And also a fighter pilot, inventor and historian of chocolate?

Embark on a magical and interactive journey through The Wondercrump World of Roald Dahl and discover the secrets of a writer beloved by gazillions of children.

Learn about Roald Dahl’s extraordinary life and the surprising inspiration for his most famous characters and stories. The tour features unique items from the Roald Dahl Museum & Story Centre archives.

Plus there are interactive installations to spark the imagination – and even test your own powers of creativity.

Laugh until your belly hurts and squirm your way through curious spaces as you step inside this Wondercrump World.

Recommended for ages 7 – 12. Exhibition content is unsuitable for younger children.

This is a guided, group experience and there must be a minimum of 1 adult for every 3 children.

Buggies will not be permitted inside the exhibition.

Please note that tours leave on time and latecomers cannot be admitted.

Tours are also available to school groups on weekdays during term time. Visit our schools page or email groups@southbankcentre.co.uk for more information and to book.

Autism-friendly Tours
We are running autism-friendly tours from Tuesday 31 May – Friday 3 June at 12.45pm each day. Free companion tickets are available if you require a companion. Please book by emailing accesslist@southbankcentre.co.uk or calling the Ticket Office on 020 7960 4200. Download a visual story here to help you prepare for your tour experience.

Dates and Times

Wednesday 10 – Friday 12 February
11am – 3pm (every hour)

Saturday 13 – Sunday 21 February
10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Monday 22 February – Thursday 24 March
Monday – Friday, 11am – 3pm (every hour)
Saturday & Sunday, 10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Friday 25 March – Sunday 10 April
10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Monday 11 April – Sunday 1 May
Monday – Friday, 2pm – 6pm (every hour)
Saturday & Sunday, 10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)
Closed on Wednesday 27 & Thursday 28 April

Monday 2 May – Friday 27 May
Monday – Friday, 11am – 3pm (every hour)
Saturday & Sunday, 10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Saturday 28 May – Monday 30 May
10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Tuesday 31 May – Friday 3 June
10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes) with Autism Friendly Tours at 12.45pm each day.

Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 June
10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Monday 6 June – Sunday 3 July
Monday – Friday, 11am – 3pm (every hour)
Saturday & Sunday, 10am – 6pm (every 15 minutes)

Spirit Level at Royal Festival Hall

£11 - Adult (*supporter ticket)
£10 - Adult (standard ticket)
£9 - Child (*supporter ticket)
£8 - Child (standard ticket)

*Supporter tickets include a small voluntary donation. If you are a UK taxpayer and are able to Gift Aid your donation, we can reclaim the tax you have paid on the whole ticket price, not just the donation. Southbank Centre is a registered charity No 298909.

The money raised through donations on supporter tickets, and the Gift Aid that we claim on these tickets, will support our Let The Light In campaign to refurbish and restore our iconic 1960s arts venues - Queen Elizabeth Hall, Purcell Room and Hayward Gallery - ensuring a truly world-class experience for our visitors and artists when the buildings re-open in 2017.

Watch & Listen