Hear readings from the poets shortlisted for the 2015 prize at this highlight of the literary calendar.

Expect an electric atmosphere at this opportunity to hear some of the best contemporary poets in the English-speaking world reading from their own work, on the eve of the winner’s announcement.

The TS Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland. It is judged by a panel of established poets and has been described by Sir Andrew Motion as 'the Prize most poets want to win'.

Pascale Petit chairs this year’s judging panel, alongside poets Kei Miller and Ahren Warner.

All ten shortlisted poets are invited to read from their work. This year's shortlist is:

Mark Doty – Deep Lane (Cape)
Tracey Herd – Not in This World (Bloodaxe)
Selima Hill – Jutland (Bloodaxe)
Sarah Howe – Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus)
Tim Liardet – The World Before Snow (Carcanet)
Les Murray – Waiting for the Past (Carcanet)
Sean O’Brien – The Beautiful Librarians (Picador)
Don Paterson – 40 Sonnets (Faber)
Rebecca Perry – Beauty/Beauty (Bloodaxe)
Claudia Rankine – Citizen: An American Lyric (Penguin)

Previous winners of the prize include Paul Muldoon, Don Paterson, Ted Hughes, Michael Longley, Anne Carson, Alice Oswald, George Szirtes, Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, Derek Walcott, John Burnside, Sharon Olds, Sinéad Morrissey and David Harsent.

The Prize was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society's 40th birthday, and to honour its founding poet. It is the 'world's top poetry award' (Louise Jury, The Independent).

If you like this, you might also like:

TS Eliot Prize Preview 
TS Eliot's The Waste Land