Now in its 18th year, the Women's Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world.

Known from 1996 to 2012 as the Orange Prize for Fiction, it is the UK's most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman. It also provides a range of educational, literacy or research initiatives to support reading and writing.

At this popular event you can see the six shortlisted authors reading and discussing their work at Queen Elizabeth Hall.

The Women's Prize for Fiction shortlist:

Hilary Mantel, Bring Up the Bodies
Barbara Kingsolver, Flight Behaviour
Kate Atkinson, Life After Life
A.M. Homes, May We Be Forgiven
Zadie Smith, NW
Maria Semple, Where'd You Go, Bernadette