Classical music

Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

Sir Simon Rattle appears in the first of two concerts on his final tour as the Berlin Philharmonic's chief conductor.

They present two programmes which combine contemporary innovation with Romantic masterpieces.

‘Rattle likes to bring out the affinities between apparently disparate things...’ (The Telegraph).

In this concert a new work commissioned by the Orchestra from the Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen is followed by Bruckner’s valedictory Ninth Symphony, one of the composer’s most powerful and richly scored works.


Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle conductor


Hans Abrahamsen: 3 Pieces for orchestra (UK premiere)
Bruckner: Symphony No.9 (with finale of Samale, Mazucca, Phillips & Cohrs)

Dates & times

30 May 2018
Approximate run time: 90 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Royal Festival Hall


£20 - £125
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£20, £35, £55, £75, £100, £125


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

There is no interval in this performance which ends at approx. 9pm

£7 student tickets are available via the Student Pulse app in the month before this concert. Some of these seats are on the stage. Download the app from any app store or go to