Classical music

Voices of Revolution: Youth & Optimism

Part of Classical Season

The talented young musicians of the Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra perform early works by Russian composers.

Rachmaninov’s First Piano Concerto reflects all the youthful freshness of a student composer. Shostakovich’s First Symphony, likewise written while he was still a student, received instant worldwide recognition.

Shostakovich’s close friend Shebalin lived and worked under the Soviet regime, yet his music remained resolutely optimistic. Meanwhile Kabalevsky focused on writing lighter music for young performers; his playful and mischievous The Comedians suite portrays a group of travelling entertainers.

Who better than the talented young musicians of the Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra to perform this programme, under the baton of Vladimir Ashkenazy?


Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra
Vladimir Askenazy conductor


Vissarion Shebalin: Excerpts from Orchestral Suite No.2, Op.22
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.1
Kabalevsky: The Comedians Suite, Op.26
Shostakovich: Symphony No.1 in F minor

Dates & times

26 Oct 2017
Approximate run time: 150 mins


Royal Festival Hall


£5 - £25
Booking fee: £1.75 (Members £0.00)
£5, £10, £15, £20, £25


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

before & after

People around the Central Bar at the Southbank Centre
Enjoy a drink at one of London’s longest bars: the iconic Central Bar
Food from Las Iguanas at the Southbank Centre
Las Iguanas brings you Latin cool, mouth-watering ingredients and South American culture