Classical music

Philharmonia Orchestra - Smetana: Má vlast

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

Hear the Philharmonia Orchestra perform Dvorák’s Violin Concerto with Hilary Hahn, and Smetana’s Má Vlast, dedicated to the city of Prague.

Dancing, daring, driving, Dvorák’s Violin Concerto releases incredible energy, filled with folk-like melodies and infectious syncopated rhythms.

Smetana’s Má vlast is a set of six symphonic poems telling the story of Prague; its ancient high castle, Vysehrad; the winding journey of the river Vltava via woods, water nymphs and rapids; the tale of the warrior Sárka and her quest for revenge against all men; Bohemia’s woods and fields; the Bohemian city of Tábor; and finally, the legendary mountain Blaník, where the knights led by St Wenceslas sleep ready to awake at the call of the country’s gravest hour.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Jakub Hrůsa conductor
Hilary Hahn violin


Dvorák: Violin Concerto
Smetana: Má vlast (complete)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£11 - £55
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£11, £18, £27, £35, £42, £55


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Related events
Royal Festival Hall at 6pm: pre-concert talk. Jacub Hrusa and Hannah Nepil discuss Má Vlast. Admission free.

Book multiple Philharmonia Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

3 – 5 events (10% discount)
6 – 8 events (15% discount)
9 – 11 events (20% discount)
12 – 14 events (25% discount)
15 or more events (30% discount)

These discounts are not available on Premium seats or for the following concerts: Christmas Classics (10 Dec 2017) and December Carols at Christmas (14 Dec 2017).