Classical music

Philharmonia Orchestra - Brahms & Tchaikovsky

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

The Philharmonia performs Brahms’ Fourth Symphony and Tchaikovsky’s dazzling Violin Concerto, with Esther Yoo.

Composed from a series of sighs, Brahms' final symphony is at once his darkest and his deepest.

The last of his works he saw performed, applause broke out at the end of every movement at its premiere. However, insecure to the end, Brahms humorously insisted his final symphony was no more than 'a few entr'actes and polkas which I happened to have lying about'.

Also hear a great Romantic work from Russia. Esther Yoo returns to the Philharmonia to perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, a musical firecracker, especially at the euphoric, dazzling brilliance of the finale.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Karl-Heinz Steffens conductor
Esther Yoo violin


Beethoven: Overture, Egmont
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto
Brahms: Symphony No.4

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£11 - £55
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£11, £18, £27, £35, £42, £55


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Related events
Royal Festival Hall at 6pm: pre-concert event. A performance by the Philharmonia Chamber Players. Admission free.

Book multiple Philharmonia Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

3 – 5 events (10% discount)
6 – 8 events (15% discount)
9 – 11 events (20% discount)
12 – 14 events (25% discount)
15 or more events (30% discount)

These discounts are not available on Premium seats or for the following concerts: Christmas Classics (10 Dec 2017) and December Carols at Christmas (14 Dec 2017).