Classical music

Philharmonia Orchestra - Shostakovich & Rachmaninov

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

Long Yu returns to the Philharmonia Orchestra to conduct an all-Russian programme including Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No.2.

Epic, towering, all-encompassing, Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto holds at its heart one of the most achingly beautiful slow movements of all time.

Shostakovich’s Fifth is arguably the most dramatic and thrilling symphony of the 20th century. Composed under acute political pressure from Stalin’s regime, the symphony’s intention and meaning is a tangled mystery, but its musical power is extraordinary.

The first movement is a mini-symphony in itself, moving from its oblique opening theme, to mechanized pandemonium and a beautiful, yearning melody. A sarcastic waltz, elegiac slow movement and coruscating march-like finale lead to the final valedictory theme.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Long Yu conductor
George Li piano


Glinka: Overture, Ruslan and Lyudmila
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No.2
Shostakovich: Symphony No.5

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£11 - £55
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£11, £18, £27, £35, £42, £55


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Book multiple Philharmonia Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

3 – 5 events (10% discount)
6 – 8 events (15% discount)
9 – 11 events (20% discount)
12 – 14 events (25% discount)
15 or more events (30% discount)

These discounts are not available on Premium seats or for the following concerts: Christmas Classics (10 Dec 2017) and December Carols at Christmas (14 Dec 2017).