Classical music

Philharmonia Orchestra - Prokofiev & Tchaikovsky

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

The Philharmonia Orchestra performs two accounts of Shakespeare’s star-crossed lovers in this programme of Russian masterworks.

Tchaikovsky’s Overture to Romeo and Juliet, with its glorious love theme moves into one of the greatest Russian powerhouses of all time: Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto, unmistakable for its magnificently grand opening chords.

Finally, excerpts from Prokofiev’s ballet music for Romeo and Juliet: the Montagues and Capulets at the great Capulet ball; the famous balcony scene; the death of Tybalt, who Romeo kills to avenge the death of Mercutio; and the story’s tragic end, which finds Romeo weeping by the grave of Juliet and taking poison before Juliet wakes, too late, from her drug-induced sleep.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Elim Chan conductor
Simon Trpceski piano


Tchaikovsky: Fantasy Overture, Romeo & Juliet (vers. standard, 1880); Piano Concerto No.1
Prokofiev: Montagues and Capulets; The young Juliet; Friar Laurence; Masks (Romeo and Mercutio masked); The death of Tybalt; Romeo and Juliet before parting; Romeo at Juliet's Tomb (Juliet's funeral) from Romeo and Juliet

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£11 - £55
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£11, £18, £27, £35, £42, £55


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Book multiple Philharmonia Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

3 – 5 events (10% discount)
6 – 8 events (15% discount)
9 – 11 events (20% discount)
12 – 14 events (25% discount)
15 or more events (30% discount)

These discounts are not available on Premium seats or for the following concerts: Christmas Classics (10 Dec 2017) and December Carols at Christmas (14 Dec 2017).