Classical music

Philharmonia Orchestra - Fear & Repression

Part of Classical Season

The Philharmonia Orchestra looks at Shostakovich’s work in the context of a shifting Soviet political landscape.

No Russian composer experienced the oppressive hand of the Soviet state more than Dmitri Shostakovich.

Composed 30 years after the revolution, Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto was written in the shadow of his public denunciation by the regime, and the masterpiece was not performed until 1955, after Stalin’s death.

Shostakovich was censured in Soviet newspaper Pravda – possibly by Stalin himself – while he was composing his radical Fourth Symphony, in January 1936. The composer bravely pressed on with the composition, though withdrew its premiere. When the symphony was finally performed 25 years later, Shostakovich reportedly said: `I think . . . in some ways . . . my Fourth is better than the symphonies that came after.’


Philharmonia Orchestra
Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor
James Ehnes violin


Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No.1
Shostakovich: Symphony No.4

Dates & times

29 Apr 2018
Approximate run time: 150 mins


Royal Festival Hall


£11 - £55
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£11, £18, £27, £35, £42, £55


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Book multiple Philharmonia Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

3 – 5 events (10% discount)
6 – 8 events (15% discount)
9 – 11 events (20% discount)
12 – 14 events (25% discount)
15 or more events (30% discount)

These discounts are not available on Premium seats or for the following concerts: Christmas Classics (10 Dec 2017) and December Carols at Christmas (14 Dec 2017).

before & after

EAT. creates, makes and serves fresh food to go including soups, hot pots, salads and sandwiches
1882 at Southbank Centre is a much lauded, authentic Italian restaurant, bar and coffee shop