classical music
classical music

Marin Alsop, Colin Currie and the Britten-Pears Orchestra

Part of Classical music

This evening's concert is perfect for first-time concert-goers or those who wish to learn more about classical music.

Hear two 20th century masterpieces played under the inspiring baton of Marin Alsop: Maurice Ravel's Daphnis and Chloe and Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, plus the world premiere of a percussion concerto by Mark-Anthony Turnage, featuring Colin Currie.

Mark-Anthony Turnage has a reputation for winning over young audiences with invigoratingly modern music, embracing jazz idioms and blazing forth in blockbuster operas and ballets. His concerto for percussion and orchestra honours composer Steve Martland, who died in 2013.

Colin Currie, hailed by The Telegraph as 'among the top handful of percussionists in the world', performs this world premiere.

The Concerto is paired with two mythic works commissioned for the Ballet Russes in 1909 – 1913: the second suite of music from Ravel's seductive, opulent ballet Daphnis et Chloé, and Stravinsky's powerful, rhythm-led Rite of Spring.


Britten-Pears Orchestra
Marin Alsop conductor
Colin Currie percussion


Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No.2
Turnage: Martland Memorial for solo percussion & orchestra (World premiere)
Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £35
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £18, £22, £28, £35


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

£7 student tickets are available via the Student Pulse app in the month before this concert. Some of these seats are on the stage. Download the app from any app store or go to