Classical music

Marin Alsop conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Part of Classical Season

Marin Alsop returns for a dramatic concert with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The concert opens with Copland's evocative Fanfare for the Common Man, before Renaud Capuçon performs Mendelssohn's evergreen violin concerto.

Finally, hear Shostakovich's despair in Stalin as he unleashes his musical frustration in the magnificent Symphony No.7.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Marin Alsop conductor
Renaud Capuçon violin


Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto
Shostakovich: Symphony No.7 in C (Leningrad)


Royal Festival Hall
book now
Members and Supporters get priority. Join now

before & after

Exterior view of Foyles Bookshop at the Southbank Centre
Visit Foyles Bookshop for new titles and bestsellers on a wide range of subjects
Exterior view of Strada at the Southbank Centre
Contemporary Italian restaurant serving fresh dishes using the finest seasonal produce