classical music
classical music

Yulianna Avdeeva, piano

Part of International Piano Series

Since winning first prize in the 2010 International Chopin Competition, Yulianna Avdeeva has delighted audiences worldwide. 'This Russian pianist is a revelation. She plays brilliantly with emotion and a magical touch. Her audience are caught under her spell.' (Le Journal du Médoc).

For this recital, she opens with Beethoven: first, the two-movement Sonata Op.90, which moves from tension and turbulence to peaceful reconciliation; next, the 32 Variations in C minor, a roller-coaster ride of pianistic invention, followed by Les Adieux, full of both drama and longing.

The second half is devoted to works by Liszt, whose haunting vision of Venice, La lugubre gondola, contrasts with the brighter Venezia, filled with joie de vivre.

The concert ends with the intense dramatic span of his mighty Sonata in B minor.

About St John's Smith Square


Yulianna Avdeeva piano


Beethoven: Piano Sonata in E minor, Op.90; 32 Variations on an Original Theme in C minor, WoO.80; Piano Sonata in E flat, Op.81a (Les Adieux)
Liszt: La lugubre gondola for piano, S.200 (vers.1); Unstern! sinistre, disastro, S.208; R.W. - Venezia, S.201; Sonata in B minor

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Partner venues
St John's Smith Square,

Smith Square, London SW1P 3HA


£10 - £38
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £15, £28, £38


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

£7 student tickets are available via the Student Pulse app in the month before this concert. Download the app from any app store or go to