Classical music

London Sinfonietta: Nordic Nights / discovering Scandinavia's hidden colours

Part of Classical music

The London Sinfonietta perform a programme of music by Nordic composers. Once the preserve of melancholic films and bare tonal landscapes, in recent years Scandinavian artists have revealed another side to their vibrant heritage – one that is rich in life and colour.

Part of Southbank Centre's 2017 celebrations of Nordic culture, this concert showcases the best of contemporary music from Kaija Saariaho's enigmatic violin concerto, which revels in the delicate interactions between violin and orchestra, to a new commission from Rolf Wallin – a composer whose fascination with nature and the human body manifests itself in shimmering harmonies and transparent orchestral textures.

About St John's Smith Square

Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad, Guro Kleven Hagen and Kian Soltani are all part of Crescendo: the Norwegian-international mentorprogram in classical music.

Rolf Wallin's newly commissioned work is supported by The Norwegian Composers Fund.

This programme is also performed on Friday 2 June at the Bergen International Festival.

Part of Nordic Matters


London Sinfonietta
Pierre-André Valade conductor
Peter Herresthal violin
Guro Kleven Hagen violin
Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad viola
Kian Soltani cello
Ida Nielsen electric bass


Eivind Buene: Sea change (UK premiere)
Saariaho: Graal théâtre
Madeleine Isaksson: Isär
Rolf Wallin: SPIRIT for electric bass & ensemble (UK premiere)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Partner venues
St John's Smith Square,

Smith Square, London SW1P 3HA


Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

nordic nights stories

Ahead of our premier of his new work Sea Change, we caught up with composer Eivind Buene
Hear the composer and musician discuss Rolf's new work and the excitement of working together across different genres of music
Listen to the London Sinfonietta's eclectic playlist featuring Björk, Sigur Ros, Kaija Saariaho and Jóhann Jóhannsson