Classical music

OAE: Marin Alsop & Nicola Benedetti

Part of Classical Season

Star violinist Nicola Benedetti performs with the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment for the first time, playing Beethoven’s Violin Concerto conducted by Marin Alsop.

Sandwiched between the complex Third Symphony and the iconic Fifth, Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony is a gentler, more intimate affair that harks back to older music and shows the distinct influence of Haydn.

Written in the same year as the Fourth Symphony, Beethoven’s only Violin Concerto was one of the first pieces written for the instrument on a large scale.

Enjoy this exploration of the variety of Beethoven’s music with two artists of international distinction.


Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Marin Alsop conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin


Beethoven: Symphony No.4
Beethoven: Violin Concerto

Dates & times

4 Feb 2018
Approximate run time: 180 mins


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £75
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £25, £45, £75


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Performance time
Please note start time of 7pm.

Book multiple Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

2 – 3 events (15% discount)
4 – 7 events (20% discount)
8 or more events (25% discount)

Children and student £5 tickets are available for every concert. These discounts, and the £5 tickets, are not available on Premium seats.

before & after

At Chinese restaurant Ping Pong, a buzzing cocktail bar meets the delights of dim sum
Inspired by canteen-style Japanese noodle bars, Wagamama delivers lively pan-Asian food