Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Paul Lewis, piano

Part of International Piano Series

Paul Lewis performs the second recital of his Haydn/Beethoven/Brahms series.

The Opus number 119 links the first and last pieces, which otherwise could not be more different.

The first is the witty and occasionally eccentric set of 11 Bagatelles by Beethoven. The last is Brahms' final work for solo piano, four lyrical short pieces that show the essence of the composer at his strongest and most succinct.

Two Haydn sonatas feature on either side of the interval. The E flat major sonata is lively and genial, the B minor one full of mercurial, shadowy tension.

`[Lewis] has clarity, muscle and steely pride, but also intimacy, vulnerability and volatility: the combination is magnetic' (The Guardian).


Paul Lewis piano


Beethoven: 11 Bagatelles, Op.119
Haydn: Sonata in E flat, Hob.XVI/49
Haydn: Sonata in B minor, Hob.XVI/32
Brahms: 4 Pieces, Op.119

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £55
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)

Multi-buy discount

£10, £20, £30, £40, £55

Multi-buy discount
Book multiple International Piano Series events in the same transaction and receive a discount: 3 – 4 events (10% discount); 5 or more events (20% discount). Events must be in the 2017/18 season. This discount is not available on Premium seats.


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Book 3 to 4 events in the International Piano Series and save 10% on tickets, or book 5 events and save 20%. This discount is not available on Premium seats and only applies to multiple concerts bought in the same series, not across two or more series.

£7 student tickets are available via the Student Pulse app in the month before this concert. Some of these seats are on the stage. Download the app from any app store or go to