Classical music

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Volkov: Mahler

Part of Classical Season

Ilan Volkov opens the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s 2018 series at Southbank Centre.

The evening begins with Liszt’s brooding From the Cradle to the Grave before accomplished soloist Pavel Kolesnikov (‘outstanding’ The New Statesman) performs Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.4.

The concert concludes with Mahler’s momentous Symphony No.1, which erupts in majestic brass fireworks.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov piano


Liszt: Von der Wiege bis zum Grabe (From the cradle to the grave), S.107 - symphonic poem
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.4
Mahler: Symphony No.1

Dates & times

6 Feb 2018
Approximate run time: 150 mins


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £50
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £20, £30, £40, £50


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

before & after

Customers at the Southbank Centre Shops
Discover homely lifestyle products from our shop in Royal Festival Hall
Couple having a cocktail in Ping Pong restaurant at the Southbank Centre
At Chinese restaurant Ping Pong, a buzzing cocktail bar meets the delights of dim sum