Classical music

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Dausgaard & Isserlis

Part of Classical Season

Hear early 20th-century music performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Conductor Thomas Dausgaard sets the scene with Britten’s dramatic Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes.

It is followed by Elgar’s much-loved Cello Concerto played by Steven Isserlis (‘immaculately expressive’ The Economist).

The concert ends with Rachmaninov’s last composition, the lively Symphonic Dances, which contrasts rhythmic vivacity with lyrical melodies.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard conductor
Steven Isserlis cello


Britten: 4 Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes
Elgar: Cello Concerto
Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

Dates & times

4 Apr 2018
Approximate run time: 150 mins


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £50
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £20, £30, £40, £50


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

before & after

Delectable Japanese sushi, ramen and more to be grabbed from the conveyor belt
Giraffe's all about freshly cooked food served to the sound of great music