literature & poetry

TS Eliot Prize Readings

Marking the 25th anniversary of the TS Eliot Prize and presented by Ian McMillan, the 2017 Shortlist Readings is a major highlight of the literary calendar. The ten shortlisted poets taking part are Tara Bergin, Caroline Bird, Douglas Dunn, Leontia Flynn, Roddy Lumsden, Michael Symmons Roberts, Robert Minhinnick, James Sheard, Jacqueline Saphra and Ocean Vuong.

Expect an electric atmosphere at this opportunity to hear some of the best contemporary poets in the English-speaking world reading from their own work, on the eve of the winner’s announcement.

The TS Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland. It is judged by a panel of established poets and has been described by Sir Andrew Motion as 'the prize most poets want to win'.

Previous winners of the prize include Paul Muldoon, Don Paterson, Ted Hughes, Michael Longley, Alice Oswald, George Szirtes, Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, Derek Walcott, John Burnside, Sharon Olds, Sinéad Morrissey, David Harsent, Sarah Howe and Jacob Polley.

The prize was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society's 40th birthday and to honour its founding poet, and is now awarded by the TS Eliot Foundation. It is the 'world's top poetry award' (The Independent).

All poets on the shortlist have accepted the invitation to read at this performance. Please note that this may be subject to change at short notice.

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£12 - £15
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£12, £15


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Age recommendation
For ages 12+