Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Mitsuko Uchida: Schubert Sonatas

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

This is the first of two recitals this season in which the great Mitsuko Uchida continues her two-year exploration of Schubert’s Sonatas.

We hear two of Schubert’s best known sonatas – the dark, turbulent Sonata in A minor, D.784 and his penultimate Sonata, D.959, written during the final months of the his life.

D.568 was amongst the first sonatas that Schubert wrote. Already displaying the composer's trademark elegance and gift for melody, it was written in 1817 – the same year that Beethoven wrote his revelatory Hammerklavier.


Mitsuko Uchida piano


Schubert: Sonata in E flat, D.568; Sonata in A minor, D.784
Schubert: Sonata in A, D.959

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£15 - £65
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)

Multi-buy discount

£15, £25, £38, £50, £65

Multi-buy discount
Book multiple International Piano Series events in the same transaction and receive a discount: 3 – 4 events (10% discount); 5 or more events (20% discount). Events must be in the 2018/19 season. This discount is not available on Premium seats.


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Ticketing information
Book 3 to 4 events in the International Piano Series and save 10% on tickets, or book 5 or more events and save 20%. This discount is not available on Premium seats and only applies to multiple concerts bought in the same series, not across two or more series.

Discounted student tickets are available from Student Pulse in the month before this concert. Some of these seats are on the stage. Download the Student Pulse app or register online