Folk & World
Gigs
Workshops & Activities
Courses

Southbank Centre Community Gamelan Gamelan & Poetry Workshops Lambeth Primary School Offer 2016/2017

Part of Gamelan Winter Chimes

Lambeth primary schools are invited to book free gamelan and poetry workshop sessions.

For the first hour, half your class works with one of our expert tutors to sample group music-making on our beautiful gamelan – a percussion orchestra from Java.

Meanwhile, the other half explores The Poetry Library's collection, working with library staff to enjoy the UK's largest collection of contemporary poetry books and recordings. The groups swap over for the second half of the two-hour session.

Dates & times

2 May 2017 - 18 Jul 2017
Approximate run time: 120 mins
><
  • May 2017

    • Tue 2 May 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 16 May 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 23 May 2017
      • 10:30 am
  • June 2017

    • Tue 6 June 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 13 June 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 20 June 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 27 June 2017
      • 10:30 am
  • July 2017

    • Tue 4 July 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 11 July 2017
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 18 July 2017
      • 10:30 am

where

Gamelan Room, Level 1, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free, but ticketed

need to know

Ticketing
These workshops are not available to book online. To book, call Southbank Centre's group booking line on 020 7960 4225 (9.30am – 5.30pm, Mon – Fri) with your preferred date and class details and quote 'Lambeth Schools Gamelan Offer'.
Schools are limited to one workshop booking per term.

before & after

Tray of Food
Explore Alchemy with a belly full of spice as street food pioneers KERB return
Customers at the Southbank Centre Shops
Enjoy design-led products and gifts in our Festival Terrace Shop.