classical music
classical music

Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

Sir Simon Rattle appears in the second of two concerts on his final tour as the Berlin Philharmonic's chief conductor.

They present two programmes which combine contemporary innovation with Romantic masterpieces.

‘Rattle likes to bring out the affinities between apparently disparate things...’ (The Telegraph).

In this concert a new commission by the Orchestra from the German composer-clarinettist Jörg Widmann is heard alongside two symphonies which took years to reach fruition.

A decade in the writing, Lutoslawski’s Symphony No.3 allows the orchestral musicians moments of spontaneity, rendering each performance unique. Brahms’ First Symphony, with its air of nobility, was 14 years in the writing. Its long inception resulted in music of astonishing maturity and depth.


Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle conductor


Jörg Widmann: Tanz auf dem Vulkan (Dance on the volcano) for orchestra (UK premiere)
Lutosławski: Symphony No.3
Brahms: Symphony No.1

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£20 - £125
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£20, £35, £55, £75, £100, £125


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy